More pink and some nail art!!!!

Good Morning ladies

I’m getting this blog post done and dusted with early because I’m meant to be doing college work. But I haven’t even opened the books. Opppsss!!!

Anyway I’ve decided to enter The Crumpet’s June nail are competition here – http://www.the-crumpet.com/2013/06/crumpet-amateur-nail-art-contest-june.html. Its taken a few attempts to get something that I’m relatively happy with. There has been some tantrums and strops as you all know that nail art isn’t something I’m that good at. But I do want to get better. This is my attempt!!
IMG_1490

I got the idea from a fellow British Blogger Polish Pal who was guest blogging on Tips and Topcoat. Linky – http://www.tipsandtopcoat.com/2013/06/guest-blogger-week-guest-blogger-7.html

The theme was pink and it did take me some time to find suitable pink polishes in my stash. Too much choice! But these were what I chose.

SAM_0406

I used as a base colour on my fingers OPI Sparrow Me the Drama. Really lovely creme polish, applied nicely and two coats was all that was needed. For the bow and the base colour for my thumb was Kiko 421 part of the limited edition Celebration summer range. As with all Kiko polishes this is a stunner and applied really well. For the white dots I used Barry M Matte White and on my thumb I used Femme Fatale Crimson Acolyte.

I reviewed the Femme back in March and is my most ‘searched’ for post. I feel however that when people come looking for swatches they’ll click on my link and be a little disappointed. The photographs in post are a little dodgy, hence I wanted to use it again to see if I could get better pictures. It is a little tricky to photograph to be honest but I think I’ve got a bit better this time!

SAM_0399

Shade. Apologises for the slight cuticle issue on my thumb. I had a bit of an incident when filing a few weeks ago and its still healing.

IMG_1487

Sunlight. What do you think, better photographs?

Now to the nail art! I followed the tutorial provided except that I used the black Barry M nail art pen which was super easy to use. I did have a little ‘blobbing’ incident which has to be fixed with some acetone and a cotton bud! I then used a nail art brush to fill in the bow and then I went over the outline again with the pen.

The dots were done with a dotting tool. I’m not sure if the mani looks a little busy. I wish I hadn’t done the dots to be honest but I think I got a little carried away! What do you think?

IMG_1490

IMG_1489

SAM_0402

SAM_0401

SAM_0400

Overall, I am pleased with my attempt and will enter the competition. I doubt that my attempt will live us the amazing attempts out there by other bloggers, but you got to be in it to win it right?!

Thanks for reading. x

7 comments

Leave a Reply

