Tresemme Naturals Shampoo…. Slight rant!

Ok so I may have mentioned before, and its slightly gross so I apologise, but I have eczema on the back of my neck and head. I have found that using shampoos with Sodium Laureth Suflate (SLS) in them makes it worse. There aren’t that many shampoos out there which don’t have this foaming agent in so when I found the TreSemme Naturals range I was so pleased as this shampoo didn’t have SLS in!!

IMG_3047

IMG_3048

It does have sulphates in but the less irritating kind. Can you tell I’m not a chemist… anyway.

I was in the supermarket the other week looking to get another bottle of my bestest ever shampoo when I noticed the bottle looking a little different….

IMG_2819

IMG_2821

Hummmm so I turned it around and low and behold they’ve only bloody added SLS back in!!!!

IMG_2820

To be honest I’m fuming. They are still counting it within their ‘Naturals’ range but have put the very ingredient that sold it previously back in!!!

I wrote to TreSemme after I found the offending shampoo but to date I’ve had no response.

That means I cannot use TreSemme after my current bottle has run out. I wanted to do this unrelated polish post purely because I wanted to whinge and to make people aware that clearly brands change their ingredients without making it obvious to their consumers. Luckily for me I must have been on my game that day!

Does anyone else have any good SLS free shampoos they use that they can recommend? I know L’Oreal do a range but none seem to suit my hair type. There is the NAKED range which is sold in Boots but no matter what type of shampoo I use my hair goes really flat, lank and greasy. I wrote to Naked about it and give them their due they at least wrote back, apologised and gave me a free hand cream!

So suggestions welcome people!! πŸ™‚

15 comments

  1. Claire with the camera

    I invested in a salon sized bottle of aveda Shampure, more expensive initially but the bottle lasted about two years (seriously, I thought it would never end at one point!). Aveda salons would be able to give you some SLS free samples too, to see if it suited you. I got the bottle from here I think: http://www.lookfantastic.com/aveda-shampure-shampoo-1000ml/10541366.html Might also be worth checking out Organic Surge, they do some good affordable SLS free shampoos http://www.organicsurge.com . I’ve had organic surge from Ocado, as well as Avalon shampoos (my husband loves them) which are SLS free. I’ve not tried out Green People, Balance Me, or Australian Organics, but they are all SLS free and I know you can get them delivered from Ocado too. I think some baby wash/shampoos are also SLS free, so that might be worth checking out. Hope that helps!

  2. Cyndar

    Check into Chaz Dean’s Wen. They aren’t supposed to have it.
    They can say hypoallergenic, but that is no guarantee that someone won’t be allergic or sensitive.
    Hope you feel better.

  3. Babafette

    As well as the brands suggested above, Holland & Barrett also stock a shampoo and conditioner range by Dr Organic that you may be able to use. There’s an argan oil one if you’re looking for something moisturising, but there’s also tea tree, royal jelly, lavender, rose, pomegranate etc. They’re not exactly cheap, but I think they are on offer at the moment.

  4. Claire Kerr

    I have the same problem and thought going SLS free would help. I tried the Happy Hair Days shampoos (I got them in Sainsbury’s) and loved them, but they didn’t seem to clear the problem. It wasn’t until I used shampoo that was free from Methylchloroisothiazolinone and Methylisothiazolinone that my scalp and neck cleared up.

  5. EmYeah8

    I don’t know if this is at all useful, but have you tried Lush? Their stuff is gorgeous smelling and I’m guessing wouldn’t contain SLS considering everything is handmade and organic! Might be an idea if nothing else works! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

